Meet Our Intern: Nicky Althoff

Guest Writer: Nicky Althoff, Komen Missouri Events and Fundraising Intern

My name is Nicky Althoff, and I am excited to be one of the newest members of the Komen Missouri team as an event planning and fundraising intern. I’m a freshman at WashU in St. Louis, currently undecided but most likely pursuing a major in political science. At WashU, I’m a member of pre-law society, Model United Nations, and the varsity track team. Originally from Roscoe, Illinois, which is right on the border of Wisconsin, I’ve loved familiarizing myself with St. Louis and all of its Midwestern glory, aside from maybe the baseball fans.

intern_nicky_1216

Nicky Althoff, event planning and fundraising intern for Komen Missouri

I first encountered the internship with Komen Missouri in the Gephardt Institute for Civic and Community Engagement’s WashU newsletter. It initially stuck out to me because Komen has been a household name in my family for many years: from cereal boxes to breast cancer apparel, the Komen logo is a common sight in the Althoff house. Aside from my familiarity with the Komen organization and mission, I was enticed by the opportunity to immerse myself in the St. Louis community by spreading Komen’s message and engaging the community in such a great cause.

As the cofounder and chairperson of a 5k benefitting breast cancer in my hometown, the internship with Komen Missouri seemed like the perfect extension of my prior experiences. It also seemed like the perfect opportunity to honor my mom, whom I lost to breast cancer in 2010. She was very involved in my local community’s breast cancer walk-a-thons and fundraisers and inspired me every day throughout her battle with her persistent smile and determination. Interning with Komen Missouri has been a great way to continue her fight against breast cancer, which truly is relevant to so many people.

As an event planning and fundraising intern, I get to see and help with all the behind-the-scenes planning of the signature Komen Missouri events like Trivia Night, the Komen Greater St. Louis Race for the Cure, and Dine Out for the Cure. I keep committee members for these events up-to-date and on-task and talk to sponsors and donors about contributing to our events. I often get to offer my opinion on matters such as how to engage more of the community and have even done some hands-on work redesigning the website.

From taking calls inquiring about mammograms to attending committee meetings, volunteering with Komen Missouri has kept me busy, but knowing that every data entry, phone call, and meeting is in some way contributing to the fight against breast cancer makes the internship the most rewarding experience I’ve had so far in St. Louis. I love working with the small but mighty Komen Missouri staff and I look forward to all of the events to come!

Leave a comment