Meet Our Intern: Maddy Chung

Guest Writer: Maddy Chung, Komen Missouri Communications and Marketing Intern

My name is Maddy Chung, and I am the new Communications and Marketing Intern at Susan G. Komen Missouri! I am currently a sophomore at Washington University in St. Louis, majoring in American Culture Studies and minoring in Marketing and potentially Global Health. I am originally from San Francisco, and though I’m very far from the west coast, St. Louis is starting to feel like home.

intern_maddy_1216

Maddy Chung, Communications & Marketing Intern for Komen Missouri

I have always had an interest in community service, social justice, and issues faced by my local community and beyond. My experience in marketing and communications is more recent, and I am looking forward to this internship because it will combine both of these interests. I am excited that this internship will allow me to engage with the St. Louis community in an impactful way, while giving me valuable experience and skills in marketing.

 

My interest in community service and social justice issues began in high school through my involvement with Breakthrough SF, an education nonprofit that provides extensive academic support to underserved middle school students. I was inspired by the incredible students and saw the unbelievable impact an organization like Breakthrough could have on their lives. Ever since then, I’ve known that I want to dedicate myself to some kind of organization that fights for an issue I care a lot about. Komen Missouri is just this – on my first day, I am already inspired by the work these women do, the energy and passion they put into it, and the impact it has on breast cancer research and the lives of so many Missouri women.

 

I wanted to try something a bit different this past summer, so I served as the Public Affairs Intern for Warriors Ground San Francisco, a community organizing branch of the Golden State Warriors. I was involved with the community organizing surrounding the new Warriors stadium, and I particularly enjoyed this role because I frequently went out into the community and talked to San Francisco residents about the project. I also wrote content for the Warriors Ground blog, did research, and got a taste of what managing an organization’s public presence is like. Through this experience, I developed an interest for communications and marketing, and as a result I declared Marketing as my minor.

 

In addition to social justice, community organizing, and marketing, health and related issues have piqued my interest last semester through a class called Global Health. Though I’m not all that familiar with breast cancer and its impact, I do know many people who are survivors or living with breast cancer today. I am looking forward to learning more about the disease through this internship, as well as contributing to the inspiring work going into finding cures.

 

Although I don’t know exactly what I want to do in life, I know that my experience interning here will help me grow both individually and as a young person considering a career path. I’m thankful to the team at Komen Missouri for this opportunity, and I’m so looking forward to see what the next months have in store here! 

Leave a comment