Meet Our Intern: Claire Salazar

Guest Writer: Claire Salazar, Komen Missouri PR & Marketing Intern

My name is Claire Salazar and I am the new Public Relations Intern at Susan G. Komen Missouri. I am a senior at Lindenwood University, majoring in Advertising and Public Relations: Corporate Communications. I am from Glenside, Pennsylvania, which is right outside of Philadelphia. I decided to go to school in Missouri because I was given an athletic scholarship to play Division II field hockey at Lindenwood University. Being a student athlete has been difficult, but I love the challenge and I love always being busy with schoolwork and my sport.

ClaireSalazar

Claire Salazar, Komen Missouri’s PR and Marketing Intern

I discovered the Komen Missouri Public Relations Internship while searching online for PR internships in the St. Louis area. With my field hockey career coming to an end, I knew that I wanted to intern with a great company or organization to learn a lot and gain experience, and because I would have a lot more time without field hockey practices and games.

When I came across Komen Missouri’s internship while browsing online, I became very excited about the opportunity to learn while working for such a wonderful organization. Working for an organization whose goal is to end breast cancer forever really hit home for me because my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer three years ago and I lost my grandmother to breast cancer many years ago. My mom’s strength throughout her treatments was so inspiring, and I thought that it would be amazing to work for an organization with an amazing mission.

When I met with Janet to talk about Komen Missouri and the internship, I really felt like I could learn many new things about public relations, and everyone working at Komen Missouri seemed wonderful and welcoming. I was very eager to begin this internship in the months leading up to its start.

I have really enjoyed my time at Komen Missouri thus far. Although I have only been interning for about a month, I have learned so many new things about public relations, event planning, and about the Susan G. Komen organization. I love helping out and preparing for the many events that Komen Missouri has had, like Trivia Night. Trivia Night was so much fun preparing for and it was a great event. My friends have been very supportive of my internship with Komen Missouri, and have attended a few events, which has been awesome.

I am really looking forward to the events that Komen Missouri has coming up in the next few months. I love that there is a community of people that are so supportive of the organization and its mission. It is so inspiring to see so many people working hard to end such a horrible disease.

As I am graduating in May, I have been thinking about my future a lot. Right now, I am planning to stay in the St. Louis area for the next few years. I have been applying for jobs and I am also thinking about staying at Lindenwood University for graduate school. My dream job in the future would be to work in public relations for a fashion brand.

Leave a Reply

