I Race for My Aunt Carol

Race Large Banner_2014Guest Writer: Diana Haynes, Komen St. Louis Intern

I race for my Aunt Carol who has battled cancer on and off since October of 2000.

Her journey began with breast cancer then entered remission in the fall of 2001. Cancer returned in her bones in 2009 and shook our entire family. After going into remission again later that year for about six months, we received the news as the new year began that cancer returned once again in her brain. She has been fighting it ever since.

Diana and her Aunt Carol

Diana and her Aunt Carol

My Aunt Carol has been one of the bravest women I’ve ever known. Through everything that she has been through, I’ve never seen her lose her faith and spirit. Raising two young children as well as her two kids from a previous marriage, she has fought one of the hardest battles you can while still doing an amazing job.

She has been an inspiration not only to me, but to our entire family. Throughout high school and college I have helped put together multiple “pink games” through athletics to help raise money and am now an intern with Komen St. Louis. All of my work is in honor of her.

As I’ve gotten older, I see and learn about more and more people who are affected by this terrible disease. I now want to support not only my family, but all those who have fought, are fighting, and who may have to fight in the future.

I have been a part of Komen St. Louis Race for the Cure since 2010 and plan to continue supporting the cause until we can find a cure!

Join us for the 16th Annual Susan G. Komen St. Louis Race for the Cure on Saturday, June 14. Visit www.komenstlouis.org.

Why do you race? Share your story: prstories@komenstlouis.org.

Leave a Reply

