“Thank You!” from a Survivor

Guest Writer: Angella Midgett, Breast Cancer Survivor

Susan G. Komen St. Louis and East Missouri Action Agency (EMAA) may have just saved my life.

I was at an appointment for my son, when I saw the sign for a free mammogram. I had a place in my left breast I was questioning, and no insurance. I placed the call, spoke with Angel (how appropriately named), she asked a couple questions, and the appointment was set for July 9th.

July 9th – wow, that’s when the ride began! Turns out my problem wasn’t in my left side; it was, though, on my right – too small to be felt, yet too aggressive to be easily treated. My breast cancer is Stage 1, with a rare quality causing it to be considered aggressive.

So far I have had the lumpectomy, my port put in place, and my first of six chemo treatments. Once those are completed, I will begin 35 treatments of radiation, followed up with 5-10 years of hormones.

Putting it down on paper is just part of the ride! The reality of it is, had I not had that free mammogram, that found that spot I couldn’t even feel, where would I be sitting by the time I could feel it? I’m just thankful I didn’t have to wait and find out!

So thank you, Angel, EMAA, and Susan G. Komen St. Louis! My family thanks you as well!

In 2013, Komen St. Louis granted $2.2 million to 13 local breast health programs in our 17-county Missouri/Illinois service area, including East Missouri Action Agency’s Rural Missouri Outreach Program. These grants help fund breast health and breast cancer screening, education and patient navigation services for those in our community like Angella who otherwise may not have access due to low income, lack of insurance or other barriers.

Leave a Reply

